Am I there yet?

Before I even thought about where I wanted to go to college, I knew I wanted to study abroad and where I wanted to go. After visiting Amsterdam on a trip with a soccer team in 2006, I fell in love with the city and its eccentric culture. After years of waiting, planning, second guessing, and much frustration the plan is finally becoming a reality!

Sunday night I leave the states and will be staying in Amsterdam for a year. I’ll be studying at VU Amsterdam the first semester and possibly interning while studying again the second semester. AH

joyful, anxious, excited, nervous, intimidated… my current state of mind is a mix I think.

Regardless of the guidebooks, blogs, stumbleUpon articles, maps, pictures I look at I still feel as if the planning I do is never enough. Since this realization I’ve decided to screw the planning and just hope the each on of the things on my long lists of adventures somehow comes to get checked off… after all I’ve never been much of a planner. I think some the most unanticipated happenings are the most exciting of all. I’ll be sure to update this blog for family and friends that want to read, mostly posting a lot of pictures.

I feel so lucky to be able to take advantage of this study exchange oppurtunity and think it can significantly change a persons outlook and approach to all other aspects of life. As Mark Twain so perfectly puts it..

“I have never let my schooling interfere with my education.”

Cheers to old friends, new friends, and living in the moment!

Leave a Reply

