Uilenstede 102

After a long night & day of flying I’ve made it to my final destination!

(picture flying over Iceland)

At the airport I was greeted warmly by members on a VU Amsterdam student organization where they took us to our housing at Uilenstede in Amstelveen, a suburb of Amsterdam. We were given the keys to our rooms and I was able to meet my roommate Chris. We made our way to our room and were pleasantly surprised with all of the space and accommodation with furniture and other living supplies.

a couple pictures of my bedroom.. and our own BALCONIES!

 

We also have a bathroom and a kitchen that we share between each other.

After we got to our rooms, we unpacked a little then went to the Cafe on campus for drinks and a speed dating event where we talked with the other exchange students. It was a lot different to see hundreds of exchange students compared to the group of 30 or 40 at UNCC. I was also able to meet up with one of my friends, Manon, who had studied at UNCC last semester!

This morning I went for a run around the canals and sportscenter by my apartment, its amazing how clean and well kept the streets, paths, and green areas are kept! This week there are many events planned for us such as a sports day, bike sale, IKEA trip, canal tours, dinners, etc.

im BEYOND excited to get my bike and use that to explore around the city. I also have some bike tours of 100-200 miles around the netherlands that i’ll hopefully be able to start in a couple weeks after classes start. Thats all for now 🙂

One thought on “Uilenstede 102

Leave a Reply

