Home for the Holidays & Hopes for the New Year

The past week and a half I had the best time being home with family and friends for the holidays, especially since almost no one knew I was coming and I was able to surprise them!

So, the original plan was for my Mom to come see me and travel around with me for Christmas, but instead she flew me back home to NC so I could spend Christmas with the whole family. It was such a good feeling to be home and it hit me  just how much I really missed the States 🙂 I went and visited my Mom’s side of the family in Fuquay-Varina , NC and then went to Charlotte for a couple of days to hang out with my brother, Chris. One day we went down to the Thomas Creek Brewery in Greenville, SC where I got a tour of the brewery and got to taste some really good craft beers! I was able to see some friends around and catch up in the little time I had. DSC_0008 DSC_0009 DSC_0010 DSC_0013 DSC_0019

I was absolutely ecstatic  to eat my Mom and Granny’s cooking and to go get some food from my favorite Mexican restaurant!

I was so happy to get a new camera for christmas and some spending money 🙂 Although,I would’ve been ok with getting nothing just  because I was so happy to be home.

DSC_0029 DSC_0035 2012-12-25 10.29.41 DSC_0049 DSC_0051 DSC_0056 DSC_0062 NMS_0077 DSC_0078 DSC_0083 DSC_0087 DSC_0092 DSC_0093 DSC_0094 DSC_0095 DSC_0096 DSC_0097 DSC_0101 DSC_0136 DSC_0137 DSC_0138 DSC_0155 DSC_0157 DSC_0160 DSC_0161 2012-12-23 21.06.00 2012-12-23 20.37.04 2012-12-25 10.34.44 DSC_0053 2012-12-21 20.44.08 2012-12-22 13.49.39 DSC_0024

Christmas was amazing and I can’t believe I’m already back sitting on my couch in Amsterdam getting ready to celebrate the end of one of the best years of my life.

My 2012 can be summarized as a year of surprises and change. If you would’ve asked me in January what I expected my year to be like I never would have guessed so many things, both good & bad ,would’ve happened. I changed multiple jobs, lost friends, made new friends, traveled to 7 different countries, seen the most beautiful places, and learned so many new things about myself. I’ve learned that I can really only depend on myself. Everyone is selfish, whether they admit to it or not, and we all do things to protect our own self-interests. People change their minds..simply put, and really if you don’t do things for yourself now… you might very well regret it in the future if someone else changes their mind on you.

For the new year I can’t really say I have any specific resolutions other than to continue to live the way I do now. Not to be obnoxious or arrogant… but I’m so content with living in the moment and knowing that these are some of the most exciting times of my life. If I do have one wish its that I get better at not worrying so much if everything will work out how “I planned” it. Setting goals is a great thing, but constricting the way to attaining the goal usually just leads to frustration. Inconveniences and obstacles are always going to be in your path, but you tend to learn the most from the detours anyways.

I’ll be staying in Amsterdam for the next 6 months and if last semester was any indication… these months are going to fly by. I’m so excited to embark on even more new adventures and continue to challenge myseld everyday. I hope everyone has had a wonderful 2012 and wish you a great 2013! Thanks to my friends and family for all of the amazing support. I feel like someone needs to pinch me, because I just can’t believe how lucky I am to have the people in my life that I do.

Don’t ever forget this…

See ya next year!

xox

Carrie

One thought on “Home for the Holidays & Hopes for the New Year

Leave a Reply

