The Most Charming Country I’ve Ever Been To

Ireland. What can I say… the people are exceptionally nice, the food is comforting, the beer is delicious, and the music is always live. I can’t say I’ve ever felt so snug while travelling before, it was just that good. Ireland was one of the places I’ve had on my list for a while and have been looking forward to since before I even got to Europe. I was lucky enough to be able to spend a week travelling around the country with Peri and seeing a little bit of everything. I decided back in December that I was going to start signing up for races around different countries I was travelling because (a) it keeps me in shape and (b) its a great way to see the cities i’m staying in. Win, win. Therefore, I signed up for a half-marathon in Kinvarra–> just south of Galway!

I flew into Dublin and spent most of the first two days walking around and getting familiar with the city.I went to the Old Jameson Distillery and did a really cool tour there and went for a run around Phoenix Park.

Peri didn’t arrive till the day after so I had some time to kill just wandering. The weather ended up being really nice and I didn’t see a drop of rain the whole time. After Peri arrived we took it easy and didn’t go out late into the night in preparation for our race on Saturday. During the day we did go to a Natural History/ Wax museum which ended up being really interesting. Learned a lot of Irish history and pop culture stuffs.

DSC_1230 DSC_1231 DSC_1236 DSC_1234 DSC_1232 DSC_1233 DSC_1241 IMG_1977 DSC_1237 DSC_1239

We arrived in Galway Friday night and didn’t do much other than cook dinner and hang out at the hostel because we had to be up early in the morning for the race. We barely made it to Kinvarra in time for the race, but we were off running and done before we knew it! The scenery was beautiful and bizarre at the same time. It was hilly, but not as bad as we thought it might be. I finished around 1 hour 54 minutes time. Afterwards we hitched a ride back to Galway with a local and he gave us some great suggestions of places to go out and celebrate later in the night. We went to some really cool pubs with great live music and of course cheers-ed to a hard days work with pints of Guinness!

IMG_2026 IMG_2014 IMG_2018 IMG_2010 DSC_1297 DSC_1298 DSC_1300 IMG_2006 DSC_1282 DSC_1278

The next day we took a tour along the western coast to the Cliffs of Moher. The tour itself was great and we saw a lot of the Irish countryside while stopping at some historical sites along the way. The weather was really nice for us the whole week we were there,  which made seeing the cliffs that much more breathtaking. They are massive in scale and go on for quite some ways. We walked till we couldn’t go any further, taking picture breaks along the way. It was a really enjoyable day trip and I would absolutely recommend it if you are in Ireland.

DSC_1340 DSC_1352 DSC_1367 DSC_1325 DSC_1369 DSC_1370 DSC_1373 DSC_1374 DSC_1382 DSC_1390 IMG_2031

That day we also met some other American girls and we all went out to a pub together to listen to live music. We sang, danced and chatted all night. It was just an absolutely perfect day. The next morning the four of us went sweater shopping and then to THE cutest little cafe by the Spanish Arch in Galway. We didn’t want to leave this gem of a place, but had to catch the bus to go back to Dublin. We stayed in the same hostel in Dublin as well. Peri and I spent the last day at the Heineken experience and walking around the city! She had an early flight in the morning, but I had an afternoon flight so ended up going to listen to more live music in the Temple Bar area that night with some of the other girls in our hostel.

 

IMG_2070 IMG_2066 IMG_2065

 

The last day in Dublin I got a haircut, hung out around the city and then flew home. It was an absolutely amazing trip. Met lots of really great people, saw beautiful sights, listened to wonderful music and ran my first half marathon. Ireland was everything I had hoped it would be and I can’t wait to get the chance to go back again!

Next up, snowboarding in Risoul, France for 8 days!!

much love xx

 

Carrie

Leave a Reply

