Croatia!

This past week I went to Croatia with a couple of friends. I’ve had a certain national park located there on my bucket list and have been wanting to go for a couple years now. I was searching flights one day and found some really cheap ones from Dusseldorf to Trieste Italy, just outside of Croatia. Rounded up some people to go and the next thing I know I’m boarding the plane and off for another adventure.

After staying in Italy for the night, my friend Julia and I grabbed a bus down to Rijeka, Croatia where we picked up our friend Kelly from the airport, rented a car and drove off to Plitvice Lakes National Park! We stayed in a really quaint Hotel Inn. Unfortunately it was raining the day we got to the park, but it was gorgeous none the less!

 

IMG_2747 DSC_2061 DSC_2071 DSC_2086 DSC_2104 IMG_2772

 

 

The water was so blue that even these pictures can’t do it justice. We walked around the park for a while before hopping in the car and driving back to the apartment we were staying in on Krk Island.

I booked the apartment through a place called Air BnB. Really cool website that has postings form people renting out rooms or apartments all over the world. We got our apartment for 35 euro a night, so about 11-12 euro each! Really good value for where we were.

The Croatian lady that hosted us was so sweet, like a mom to us. She picked us up from the airport and had dinner waiting for us when we got there. She offered to show us around the island and even brought us fresh bread every morning!

IMG_2802 IMG_2811 IMG_2815 IMG_2819 DSC_2129 DSC_2137 IMG_2827 DSC_2155

 

We spent the days relaxing on the beach, drinking fruity cocktails, and walking around the town. The view from our place was spectacular so we spent alot of time hanging out around the apartment and trying to get some school work done on the side.

The last day Kelly and I had to fly back out of Trieste, Italy so we took the bus back up there and hung out in Trieste getting gelato and lovely italian food before flying back to Dusseldorf. We had to hitch a ride from Dusseldorf to Nijmegen , a small dutch city where we had to catch the last train home. It was a long day of travel, but getting to see the National Park and soaking up some sun on the beach was some needed R &R

The semester is almost at its end and this was my last trip before my mom and sister get here in June to travel! Can’t believe this year has come to a close so quickly. I have just under a month left of my exchange and it hasn’t quite hit me yet. This year has been the best of my life and I’ve had such amazing people to share it with. Cherishing every last moment I have…

 

xxx

Carrie

Leave a Reply

